New Mexico Book Association (NMBA) is the only statewide nonprofit serving all book professionals. We are passionate book people who have come together through our common interests to preserve, protect, and promote the book in all its forms. Our members include book creators, writers, editors, publishers, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, book designers, typesetters, printers, literacy advocates, agents, reviewers, and avid readers.

New Mexico Book Association from New Mexico Book Association on Vimeo.   Video producer and editor, Mike Boyko, Santa Fe.


Founded in 1994, NMBA has been recognized as one of the country’s most active book associations. Our many services include professional development workshops, our Libro newsletter, monthly networking luncheons, New Mexico’s Book World (a resource guide to the NM book community), a monthly online events calendar, opportunities to show and sell books at major book festivals and trade shows, and more. Please explore this site to see all that we do!

To view our current  newsletter, Libro Book News, with our current activities, click the link here:

libro-v22n6-nov-dec        November/December

LIBRO sept oct V22N5    September/October

LIBRO V22N4 LIVE V    July/August

LIBRO V22N3 LIVE         May/June





Upcoming Events and Programs


NMBA is reviewing applicants for these positions:

Program Committee



Publicity Chair

Liaison between NMBA and IBPA and PubWest

Libro Editor and/or Designer

Book Review Program Coordinator

And as mentioned on page one in the November/December Libro (click link above) we’re also looking for a point person to head up the Southwest Book Design and Production Awards (SWBDA) as well as a designer for the brochure. Your valued skills can be put to good use and will be greatly appreciated. For the enthusiastic candidates, these positions are a great opportunity to lend your voice to the running of NMBA. You will be coached or assisted (as needed) in familiarizing yourself with the position for which you apply. To apply or to get more information, email Paula Lozar, lozarpaula@cs.com



fiesta-loboNew Mexico Book Association Winter Fiesta will be held on Jan. 19th 2017, 6 - 8pm, Bourbon Grill in Santa Fe. All are welcome. Check out www.nmbook.org.  RSVP: admin@nmbook.org. Join us as we celebrate the Book-in-Hand, Special Recognition and Richard Harris Awards. Mix and mingle with authors, publishers, marketing experts, proof readers, social media experts, and just plain folk who love books. A good time will be had by all!! RSVP: admin@nmbook.org




2016  Southwest Book Design and Production Awards

New Mexico Book Association is pleased to announce the list of winners and finalists for the 2016 Southwest Book Design and Production Awards.

Santa Fe, July, 2016: The Southwest Book Design and Production Awards were open to publishers from Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, West Texas, Oklahoma, and Utah. This is the seventh year that these coveted recognitions reward excellence and creativity in book design and production. They have been awarded to the publishers/designers/ creators of a number of outstanding books produced during the last year. Judges are experienced book professionals and vetted volunteers.

2016 and 2015 SWBDA Award Winners

Here are the winning recipients of the 2016 and 2015 Southwest Book Design and Production Awards:    Read More

Click on the Publications tab to view the 2014 Winners.



Upcoming Events